Dr.Strangelove saves the day…

February 7, 2006 at 5:38 am 1 comment

I have this very odd professor, Dr.Strangelove (yes, he did legally change his name to personify a pop-cold war icon) who is a fascinating creature. He pops around the campus and downtown coffee shops like a man on some strange adventure (rather than a mission), his excitement about life and culture just beaming. In class he is silly; just the other day he immitated the bloody death from some new x-box game, then climbed on the desks to give us a real life view of what 'presenting' is in the animal kingdom.

Needless to say, the guy is a brilliant riot in a Spongebob Squarepants t-shirt.

Anyhoo, I was on his site the other day, and since my entire days work revolves around my evolving emotionally and socially, I thought I would share what I found.

This picture is so cute. He mentions in class his recent marriage, and he seems so thrilled by the situation, and that's all fine and good. But it was totally different to see this photo, because it allowed me to recognize fully how he is human. I myself tend to take people of great intelligence or social standing and place them on this pedestal, where they are free from daily human emotions, like the ones that I experience.

Dr.Strangelove is strange indeed. He has a thing for creating found art with Barbie dolls, and he seems obsessed with the way society objectifies women, without saying it's bad or good. When I listen to him speak, when he shares his art with us, or when I see him bumbling around a coffee shop, he reminds me of me in a way. And I loved looking at this photo of him and his bride, since it gives me hope that one day I will meet someone who not only enjoys my (often ridiculous) creativity and artistic mentality, but that he might be the same way. I like knowing there are other people out there like me.

(I hope he doesn't get creeped out by the fact that I stole the photo from his site http://www.strangelove.com)
Dr.Strangelove and Bride

Entry filed under: , This That and The Other.

Here’s an idea… An open letter to recreational walkers…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dr. Strangelove  |  May 11, 2006 at 1:20 pm

    Thank you for the kind words! Glad you liked the class. I try to be myself and keep lectures as interesting as possible. Life is a strange adventure indeed. Keep your eyes open — many people don’t see beyond the hyperreal trash.

    Best wishes,

    Dr. Strangelove

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

February 2006
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  

