an old 20GB from 2004, no video, no colour, just scratches and destroyed earphones… set the mood: Combat Baby – Metric

February 26, 2006 at 9:10 am Leave a comment

ituneswhichipoda20060212.gifIt's funny how music can make you feel good, bad, or just plain crazy. Music sets my mood; my friends and co-workers can always tell if I'm depressed, for Closing Time and Loaded never stray from the cd player. And if I'm only listening to my 'happy music', 'happy2', or 'more happy music' playlists on my ipod, have no fear talking to me. The many happy tunes will keep me from biting your head off.

Wasn't it nice of Apple to program iTunes so that you could forever keep track of how many times you've listened to a song? Even your iPod keeps count, and every time you plug it in for an update, your song choices are loaded onto your hard drive for you to paruse in the future, neatly listed under 'Top 25 Played' playlist. Here are my top ten:

1. Not Coming Down – Bettie Serveert
2. Get Off – The Dandy Warhols
3. The Supermarket Strikes Back – Mull Historical Society
4. De Diva – Bettie Serveert
5. The Love In – Bettie Serveert
6. Wide Eyed Fools – Bettie Serveert
7. Cut 'n Dried – Bettie Serveert
8. We Used to be Friends – The Dandy Warhols
9. The Way We Get By – Spoon
10. Bohemian Like You – The Dandy Warhols

We know who the band of the day is. Or the year, I guess. Better change today's mood song to someone other than Bettie Serveert (no, the band is not paying me to promote them, I'm just insane).

#1 clocks in at 163, which translates to 369 minutes. #10 is 89, 380min. Cleopatra, the longest movie ever made is only 320 minutes! (Directors cut).

Okay, well, that's embarassing.

Honestly, I listen to a wide variety of music, I really do. Please keep in mind that this is over the 14 months I've owned my iPod. I've listened to many songs aside from the ten listed above. And, I didn't even listen to those once a day, so that's pretty good, I think. Although, seeing the numbers like that is when I start to feel crazy. I thought my 130 times listening to Get Off was bad, then today I check and find that Not Coming Down has surpassed it with flying colours.

Hm.

If it's any consolation, the music is all happy. And I need to listen to music over and over again to really get into it. Often times, music is an aquired taste for me, and just with food or drink, if I don't really get into it over time, I just go back to that which I'm already familiar. The first time I listened to Pavement's…well, any of their albums, but Terror Twilight was the first I'd ever owned, I didn't like it. Same thing with Pixies Surfer Rosa…Really couldn't stand it. Probably because more experimental and ecclectic melodies are so hard to follow, that you need to really know the song in order to enjoy it. But, I perservered and now I love those albums. Anything I've really forced on myself, I eventually come to love. The aquired taste is really just like your body giving in to something completely offensive, just for relief.

There was one album that I never aquired a taste for.

When I was in highschool, music was constantly on in the background for me. More recently, I've found that this is probably the cause of my attention defeciencies, so I allocate specific times dedicated solely to music consumption, like while riding the bus or going to the gym. Back in highschool, I was all over really distatefull stuff. Grunge was the big thing, and I must admit, I indulged in screaming/angsty alternative-metal much of the time. But the one album I could never, ever get into was Hole's Pretty on the Inside.

I loved Hole. How dirty that sounds now, and I've ingrigued myself by that statement. Pretty on the Inside played almost non-stop for an entire week as I tried to aquire a taste for it. At the end of the week, when I went crazy and threw the cd at the wall before collapsing into a corner to twitch for a couple of hours, I realized there are some things that just cannot be aquired.

I've learned to love the taste of raw fish. I almost vomitted the first time I ate smoked salmon, but now it is amazing. After years of despising mushrooms as a child, I now feel that portabellos are the greatest gift to a vegetarian. I even watched Bridget Jones' Diary enough times to really enjoy it (but that doesn't mean I'm open to other crappy chick flicks, cause I'm not). I won't listen to radio that isn't the CBC because I know that I will eventually come to like the bad mainstream tripe. But I couldn't learn to love Pretty on the Inside. Wow. It must be a pretty shitty album.

Entry filed under: , My Generation - a social commentary, This That and The Other.

trust and the sociological experiment… set the mood: attagirl – bettie serveert Not if you were the last manic depressive on earth… set the mood with: we used to be friends – the dandy warhols

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

February 2006
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  

