I hate the summer and the Gods of Summer hate me back… set the mood: blue side – rooney

June 23, 2006 at 2:53 am Leave a comment

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t dislike summer as an idea.

Sunny, warm days, cool nights, long daylight hours, sandals are appropriate footwear, and skirts are more comfortable than pants. All good.

But everything has its negative aspects. For example, my friends are generally home for the summer, and we mostly have day jobs,so we can go galavanting in the evenings to our hearts desires. Good. Spending money on blizzards and nachos and garlic bread? Bad. Bad in every possible way. Not only because summer is about saving money for expenses like edumecation, but also because a full time job does not allow one to bike, run, pilate, or lift enough weights to make eating that kind of shit okay.

So, to prove that the Gods of Summer are totally against me for my summer grudge, they have been trying to break the little spirit I have left; Sunday, the cycle home from work was the worst I have ever experienced. The wind was sent straight out of hell, and it was humid like you wouldn’t believe. I actually broke down and screamed at the top of my lungs for some time. Admittedly, that didn’t improve the situation.

Second case: Last night, Robin and I go for a walk (to work off our post-dinner ice cream consumption) but instead of going to Jessi’s house, we went to a pub. Then we ate garlic cheese bread and bruschetta… no, I didn’t eat dinner that night (does ice cream count as dinner?) but it was like 10.30 at night. Not the time for a gluten sensitive person to be eating large amounts of white bread. Bad bad bad.

But my justification was that I would cycle the 36km into work today.

This morning I wake up and it’s raining. Okay, I can handle some rain. I turn on THE WEATHER NETWORK and they say it will be a dreary day of rain and thunder storms. So I opt not to bike, not wanting to risk being a highly mobile lightning rod.

IT WAS A BEAUTIFUL FUCKING DAY. NO RAIN. NO LIGHTNING. WTF WTF WTF. I HATE THE WEATHER NETWORK AND I HATE THE GODS OF SUMMER.

Yeah. That entry sucked. Sorry.

Entry filed under: , rants.

In love with Trent Reznor? And why not… set the mood: Wish – NIN An Open Letter to The Man Who Broke My Heart… set the mood: martha – tom waits

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

June 2006
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

